How the heck did summer get here already??

Goodness, it’s been a while, hasn’t it?? The last month or two has felt semi-insane…I’ve been so very busy painting–and surviving the end of the kids’ school year, and most recently, the extra special chaos that is Vacation Bible School (not over yet, cross your fingers for me) that I’ve sorta neglected to post stuff. In a loooong time. Sorry about that! Whew…alrighty then, time to catch up. Wanna see what I’ve been up to? Good, I was hoping you’d say that!

OK…so, remember in one of my last posts, I mentioned that I was taking on a BIG project, that whole kitchen set thing? Well, it’s almost done…and I think it might just possibly be kinda awesome. Here’s the premise: the client decided on a travel theme, with the table depicting scenes from their home turf, the LA area…and then each of the stools representing a special destination meaningful to their family.

Well, wait…here, easier to show than tell:

Here’s the compass-themed top.158 I think it’s kinda groovy.

Here’re the various spots around L.A.–you may recognize many of these!

159 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 169 170

194Each table leg features a phrase or two from the region depicted on the stools (more on those in a minute)…201 202 203195 198 199 200…And the passport stamps on the central barrel are inspired by stamps from the client’s actual passport!

231

And…viola…the stools themselves!

We’ve got Paris, with the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, and the carousel….

248

…London with Big Ben, double decker bus (with an almost-hidden “London 2012 Olympics” billboard), and the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Playground…

…Hong Kong, with Victoria Harbor and the Star Ferry. 282

…and Boston, with the Swan Boats, Boston Common, and a certain family group of ducks…262

293

See? I’ve been busy! I’m in love with this concept…I think I want one of these myself!!

4 thoughts on “How the heck did summer get here already??

  1. Jess says:

    Wow! Looks great!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    We couldn’t be more THRILLED with our kitchen table set. We’ve had it in our home for just one week and we just love it. It evokes so many happy memories and we scramble each meal to claim “our” stool. Our three-year old exclaimed this morning, “I get to sit in Boston!” and proceeded to claim Hong Kong instead. Useful geography lessons abound. She also said, “Remember when I climbed the pirate ship in the park?” We will always remember our great London trip for the 2012 Olympics, and now we have a daily reminder. Lara’s talent is extraordinary, and her attention to detail and collaboration on ensuring this project was all we imagined and more make her a true standout. I encourage ANYONE AND EVERYONE to work with her on a dream project. My husband and I have talked for more than 5 years about wanting a painted kitchen table set, and feel beyond lucky to have found Lara. We started with a chair for our daughter’s room, and immediately knew Lara was the person to fulfill our dream for this most AWESOME kitchen table set imaginable. We couldn’t be happier. Thank you, Lara. You are a star!

  3. Lara Eve says:

    Words fail me…which is rare for me! Thank you, Elizabeth, I am giggling and tearing up simultaneously, and am so grateful to have worked with you on this amazing project, and so honored that you chose me.

Leave a Reply

